Sixth Annual Officer Stephen Acone Hockey Tourney at Lawrence Larsen Rink

Last Saturday morning, the Stephen “Punky” Acone Hockey Tournament was under way. It is sponsored in partnership by the Winthrop Youth Hockey Program and the Winthrop Police Association. Born and raised in Winthrop and a member of the 1975 Squirt New England Championship Team and a graduate of Winthrop High School, Acone played for his beloved Vikings and supported the youth hockey program. Acone joined the Winthrop Police Department in 1993 and continued to serve the community in many ways, including the Winthrop Youth Hockey Program.

The combined teams of the Carni-Bums (red) and the Punks (green). After the ice was cleared, the 2022 Champions were the Carni-Bums.

Stephen “Punky” Acone’s memory is honored with this annual hockey tournament, geared to raise money for scholarships for graduating Winthrop hockey players.

Along with scholarships in Acone’s name are the following: Detective Michael Delehanty Memorial Scholarship, Delehanty served the community of Winthrop as a police officer for more than 26 years. The Detective Robert McFarland Memorial Scholarship, proudly serving the Town of Winthrop for 48 years. The Officer Charles A DeMinico Memorial Scholarship, and the Lieutenant Joseph Flannery Memorial Scholarship. The Winthrop Youth Hockey Program and the Winthrop Police Association wish to thank all those who generously donated in any way to make this annual event a success and help carry on the memory of these fine police officers that served the Town of Winthrop with pride and honor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.