Race for Nomination Papers Beginning to Slow Down

By Sue Ellen Woodcock

Any resident running for office has until Sept. 19 to file nomination papers, but it appears the field seems to be slowing down compared to the flurry of the last couple of weeks.

One race to watch will be for Town Council President. Robert Driscoll Jr. has resigned and was replaced by former Precinct 5 Councilor Russ Sanford who was the vice president of the council. Sanford has taken out papers to run for the president’s seat. Challenging him will be Precinct 3 Councilor Rich Boyajian.

The Town Council is encouraging people to come forward if they are interested in serving as Precinct 5 Councilor. The person would be appointed to serve until the election in November.

Board of Health Chairman Nick LoConte took out nomination papers to run for Councilor in Precinct 3 and returned the papers with three times the required amount of signatures.

“I am humbled to be receiving such support from my fellow Winthrop residents.  This milestone is thanks to so many people who are volunteering to help the campaign along the way,” LoConte said.  “Even though we didn’t need this many signatures, I thought it was important to connect with voters with some old fashion ‘pounding the pavement’ to let everyone know that I am “All In For Precinct 3.”

Incumbent Nicholas DelVento has not yet taken out nomination papers and there is some talk that he might not seek re-election.

In the race for councilor-at-large it looks like Robert DeMarco, Michael Lucerto and School Committee chair Dawn Sullivan will be running.

There are three openings on the School Committee with Dawn Sullivan, Brian Perrin and William Holden filling those seats now. Resident James Fabiano has taken out nomination papers for a seat on the School Committee.

For Housing Authority its will be a race with Frederick Silk, Peter Gill and Peter Burke Jr.

For Precinct 1 the race will be between incumbent Paul Varone and Michael McDuffy.

There is one opening on the Board of Library Trustees and it is believed that incumbent Betty Peabody will not be seeking reelection The other two library incumbents Jillian Teixeira and Virginia Wallace have obtained nomination papers.

The last day to return nomination papers is Sept. 19. On Oct. 5 the lottery will be held for ballot position. The last day to register to vote in the Nov. 7 election is Oct. 18.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.