Sanford Steps into New Role as Council President

By Sue Ellen Woodcock

Russ Sanford

Russ Sanford had little time to prepare when he found out he would be the next Town Council President over a week ago, but he’s taken the reigns and plans on making sure the business of the council moves forward.

“We had no idea. It was quite a shock to everyone,” Sanford said.

The former Precinct 5 Councilor has moved forward and taken out nomination papers for the Town Council President election. Councillor Rich Boyagian has also taken out nomination papers.

Sanford is one of the original people to collect signatures and served on the Charter Commission when the current form of government was put into place in 2005.

“I have the solid support of the council and I spoke to the department heads,” Sanford said. “I told them I need their support and help to continue with the growth in Town.”

Staying together as a town is important to Sanford, a man who has owned his own construction company for 31 years, and multiple properties in the Town. He and his wife Suzanne have raised two daughters and four grandchildren.

“I have a big investment in the Town,” Sanford said.

He supports Town Manager James McKenna in his decision not to renew his contract.

“Good for him. He is pursuing another career,” Sanford said. “The town manager has worked hard along with the Council to move this town forward.”

As for the other events of last week pertaining to the School Committee, Sanford said, “We need to have zero tolerance for negativity, disrespect and bullying at every level including social media, while respecting other opinions. It’s important to set the example for those considering public service and for the citizens of our great community.”

In other election news, the race for Town Council has three candidates running for the At-Large seat, Robert DeMarco, Michael Lucerto and Dawn Sullivan. Running for Housing Authority are Frederick Silk, Peter Gill, Marie Matarazzo and Peter Burke Jr. For Library Trustee there are two candidates, Gillian Teixeira and Virginia Wallace. For School Committee candidates include James Fabiano, Jennifer Powell and John Lyons. Town Council incumbent Paul Varone will be challenged in Precinct 1 by Michael McDuffee. Nick Loconte is running for Precinct 3 and Peter Christopher has taken out nomination papers for Precinct 5.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.