Cross country girls win NEC South title

The Winthrop High girls cross country team capped a perfect 5-0 season in the South Division of the Northeastern Conference and thereby captured the 2010 South Division championship with a shutout victory over Saugus Monday on the course at Deer Island.

“Eight of the girls set personal records in the meet,” said WHS head coach Warren MacPhail, whose squad took the first five places and eight of the top 10 against Saugus. “They are the division champions and have a lot to be proud of.”

Jordan Griffiths set the pace for the field, capturing first place in a time of 17:59. Kaitlyn Hersey was next in 18:42, followed by Carly O’Keefe in 19:32, Michaela McCarthy in 20:06, and Cory Charvis in 20:15 to round out the top five scoring places for the Lady Vikings.

Also coming across the line with strong finishes were Julia Wallace in sixth in 20:41, Lucy Floyd in eighth in 22:02, and Erica Mazzone in 10th in 22:45. Abbey Evans (23:56), Lauren Kostegan (25:34), and Jenn Colligan (27:07) also competed for Winthrop.

On the boys’ side, Nick Floyd was the top Viking with a clocking of 17:05, good for sixth place. Brian Manning was seventh in 17:18, followed by Mike Gennaco in ninth in17:35, Jerry Driscoll in 12th in18:12, and Joey Bosco in 16th in 19:22 to complete the top five for Winthrop.

Leo Haskell (20:13), Mario Mazzone (20:31), and Frank Mazzuchelli (24:17) also ran for the Vikings.

MacPhail’s squads will compete in the NEC Meet this Saturday at Bradley Palmer Park and then will the head to the Division 6 State Meet two weeks later.

“Over the next few weeks, all the kids will be aiming to cut 30 seconds off their times, which will add up to 10 to 30 points in the state meet,” said MacPhail.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.