Finding their mark – Search Committee did a great job

The Town Manager Selection Committee presented the names of the three finalists to Town Council President Thomas Reilly, signifying that the process has reached its final stages and a successor to interim Town Manager Larry Holmes will be named soon.

Reilly announced at Tuesday night’s council meeting that James McKenna, Andrew Maylor, and John Moak are the three finalists.

All three men bring outstanding credentials and vast municipal experience to their candidacies for the top administrative position in this town. The council will interview the three candidates in an open session and make its recommendation to President Reilly, who then will make the final decision of who will be the next town manager of Winthrop.

We commend Town Manager Selection Committee members Peter Finn, Paul Leavy, Larry Powers, Carol Lederman, and Marie Turner for an excellent job of reviewing the more than 40 applications, interviewing candidates, and ultimately selecting three finalists.

The committee members drew praise from one of the candidates for their professionalism throughout the process.

The town should be proud of these five individuals for shining in a tough, volunteer role for the betterment of the town. We also thank the University of Massachusetts-Boston Collins Center for its important role in the process. The town benefited from their expertise and experience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.