Pee Wee A’s win state title

By Jim Lederman

In a scene that reminded me of the parade to welcome home Olympic hero Michael Eruzione, the town had a parade to welcome the newest State Championship Team.

The Pee Wee A’s team captured the state title Saturday night at Hockey Town in Saugus with a 5-0 victory over Westwood.

Coaches Frank Ferrara, John Ferullo, Brandon Cherdon and John Olewitz guided the champions in a victory parade with the Winthrop police and fire department to a victory party at Paesan’s Restaurant.

Olympic captain Mike Eruzione attended the game and welcomed the new state champions at Paesan’s.

Winthrop defeated Westwood to capture the title, after victories over Lynn, Worcester and Concord-Carlise and Melrose to advance to the state championship game.

Winthrop outscored their opponents 22-1 to gain the final and add another state championship to Winthrop.

Dylan Driscoll was named Most Valuable Player in the tourney, scoring two goals in the final and six in the tourney.

The team members are:

Alex Anzuoni, Daniel Brogan, Brandon Creador, Zachary Deeb, Dylan Driscoll, Matthew Feeley, Frank Ferrara, Marc Ferullo, Sean Gillis, Jonathan Griffiths, Andrew Olevitz, Patrick Todisco, Devon Wall and Michael Zampanti.

We salute the 2010 state champions!

2 comments for “Pee Wee A’s win state title

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.