Don MacLeod Honored with AHCA’s Women’s Ice Hockey Founders Award

Former Northeastern women’s hockey head coach Don MacLeod was honored with the Women’s Ice Hockey Founders Award on Friday, as announced by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA).

The Founders Award honors a member of the hockey community or college coaching profession who has contributed to the overall growth and development of women’s ice hockey in the United States through their enthusiasm, passion and selflessness.

The winningest coach in Northeastern women’s hockey history, MacLeod enjoyed a successful 11-year career on Huntington Avenue, during which time he helped establish the program as a powerhouse on the national stage. After taking over behind the bench prior to the 1981-82 season, MacLeod led the Huskies to 210 total wins, eight consecutive Beanpot championships (1984-91), and back-to-back ECAC crowns (1987-89) – the equivalent of the national championship at the time.

MacLeod finished his coaching career at Northeastern in 1992 with a .772 winning percentage, the second-best mark in NCAA Division I women’s hockey history. The Melrose, Massachusetts native authored six seasons with at least 20 wins – including NU’s undefeated ECAC championship team (26-0-1) in 1987-88 – and once led NU to a 42-game unbeaten streak.

MacLeod was inducted into the Northeastern Varsity Club Hall of Fame in 2013, a year after being inducted into the Women’s Beanpot Hall of Fame.

In addition to his success on the ice, MacLeod greatly expanded the recruiting reach of the women’s game beyond New England into Canada and the western United States.

MacLeod will be recognized alongside nine other AHCA major award winners at the 2019 Frozen Four in Buffalo, or during the 2019 AHCA Convention in Naples, Florida.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.