Are You Ready for Some Football?

The Patriots start practice  next Thursday (July 24) .  The Winthrop Vikings open practice in 31 days (August 17).  The first scrimmage is with Beverly at Hurd Stadium on Saturday, August 23rd.  Are you ready for some football?

Here’s Lederman’s top ten list.


1.   Jackie Burke – Goal in triple overtime to beat Norwood in the 1976 State Tournament.

2.  Chuck Mullane – Basket to defeat Natick in the 1963 Tech Tourney.

3.  James Fucillo  – Interception with 1 minute to play in MIAA Superbowl Playoff victory over Masconomet.

4.  Todd Doherty – Three point basket to send Winthrop to overtime in 1995 State Tourney,

5.   Kelley Mahoney  – Half court buzzer beater to defeat Ipswich in MIAA  State Tourney.

6.   Chris Costonis – Three goals in 29 seconds in Lynn Arena in 1972.

7    Kevin Lydon – Overtime goal in 1974 to send the Vikings to the Boston Garden.

8.   Dennis Hayes – Jump shot over Dick Jouron to win the 1969 NEC Championship.

9.  Steve Adamson – Touchdown to defeat Swampscott in 1964.

10.   Chuck Sullivan –  Touchdown to defeat Beverly in 1981.


1. “Touchdown Tony”   – Anthony Palmer

2. “The Tank”  – Steve Adamson

3.  “Joey The Jet”    –  Joey Murray

4  “Truck” –  Bob McKenna

5. “Double D’s” – Mike DeMarco and Mark DeGregorio

6. “Pride of Point Shirley” –  Casey and Chris Butler

7. “Junior Jet”  –  Bobby Kneeland

8. – “The Rocket”  –  Renaldo Agostinelli

9. – “Big Guy”  – Jay Petersen

10.  – “Rambling Reck from River Road” – Albie Maggio



{A]   The 9 basketball players who lead the NEC in scoring?

Norm Hubley  (1947)

Sheldon Bernstein  (1950)

Joe Duplin  {1953}

Marty Fischer  {1957}

John Monahan  {1958}

Arnie Springer  {1959}

Dennis Hayes  {1969}

Chris Tsiotos   (1973)

Dino Mallios  {2010}


{B}   Name the three Lady Vikings Division 1 players?

Maureen McManus  [1983},  Lehigh University

Lori Thomas {1993},  University of Maine

Johnna Fisher {2010},  Central Connecticut State


{C}   Name the 3 football stadiums with lights in 1960?

Manning Bowl in Lynn

War MemorIal Stadium in Newburyport

Everett Memorial Stadium


{D}   Name the original Northeastern Conference Schools?










The Orioles, under the direction of manager Sammy Deeb, captured the 2014 Winthrop Little League ‘A’ Division championship this season. This will be Mr. Deeb’s final year in the organization after a successful tenure as a coach and board member. Pictured with their championship trophies are players, front row, left to right, Andrew Ronan, Nick Calla, and Christopher Gibbons. Middle row, from left, are Ryan Skoczylas, Brian Chalmers, Joe Mahoney, Chris Finn, Joe Deeb, Nick Deeb, Conor Clarke, Michael Chavis, and Michael Carter. Back row, from left, are coach Joe Skoczylas, manager Sammy Deeb, coach Chris Finn, and coach Steve Calla. Mr. Deeb said he enjoyed coaching “so many great kids” in the town. He also thanked two of his fellow coaches, Chris Finn and Chris Page, calling them “two awesome guys.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.