Lady Vikings at NEC Meet

The Northeastern Conference All-Stars on the school’s NEC championship girls track team, from left, Carly O’Keefe, Lexi Vaccaro, Christina Russo, Amy Sena, Jordan Griffiths, and Alyssa Mackey; and head coach Warren MacPhail.

Amy Sena, Lexi Vaccaro, and Lauren LoPresti scored points for the Winthrop High girls track team in last Saturday’s Northeastern Conference All League Meet held in Lynn. Sena and Vaccaro took fourth places, Amy in the 400 low hurdles in a time of 71.16 and Lexi in the triple jump with a final landing of 32’, 2.” Lauren grabbed sixth in the discus with a toss of 70’-2.” The top six finishers in each event are awarded points for their team. Other Lady Vikings who competed in the meet were: Christina Russo, 7th in the 200 dash in 28.06; Alyssa Mackey, 7th in the 400 dash in 64.11; Annie Mahoney, 12th in the 400 dash in 69.89; Jordan Griffiths, 7th in the 800 in 2:37; Kaitlyn Hershey, 9th in the 800 in 2:45; Mia Simonetti, 8th in the mile in 6:34; Corey Charvis, 9th in the mile in 6:37; Carly O’Keefe, 7th in the 400  low hurdles in 73.45; Gina Guiliano 12th in the triple jump with a 29’-8” effort; Liz Anderson with a shot put toss of 24’-3” for 9th place; and Kelly Anderson with a shotput throw of 18’-8.”

Two of the Lady Viking relay  teams also broke into the scoring column with fourth place performances. The 4 x 400 quartet of O’Keefe, Sena, Mackey, and Vaccaro (in a time of 4:28) and the 4 x 800 foursome of Maria Rago, Michael McCarthy, Hershey, and Griffiths. “We went to the meet in hopes of qualifying Jordan in the 800 and to get the 4 x 400 to run under 4:37. We did both which was great,” said WHS head coach Warren MacPhail, whose squad captured the championship of the NEC’s South Division with a 5-0 dual meet record . “We also wanted our younger team members to gain the experience of a big meet setting.”

A nice contingent of Lady Vikings will represent Winthrop at the State Divisional Meet this weekend: Christina Russo in the 200 dash; Alyssa Mackey in the 400 dash; Jordan Griffiths in the 800; Lexi Vaccaro in  the triple jump and 200 dash; Carly O’Keefe and Amy Sena in the 400 low hurdles; and Mayomi Meggison in the long jump.

In addition, the quartet of Russo, the Joneses (Theresa and Felicia), and Meggison will compete for Winthrop in the 4 x 100 relay and the foursome of Mackey, Vaccaro, Sena, and O’Keefe will compete in the 4 x 400 relay.

A number of Vikings were named to the NEC’s South Division All-Star team: Christina Russo, Lexi Vaccaro, Jordan Griffiths, Amy Sena, Carly O’Keefe, and Alyssa Mackey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.