Turco takes top post on new look Town Council

Saying he was humbled by the support of Winthrop residents and that he would work tirelessly to move Winthrop forward, Jeffrey Rosario Turco received the oath of office Monday night as the new president of the Winthrop Town Council.

Town Clerk Carla Vitale administered the oath to Turco and other newly elected officials during the swearing-in ceremony Monday night at the Cummings School Cafetorium.

Town Manager James McKenna welcomed the gathering to the festivities that were televised on WCAT.

“It’s really quite an exciting evening for the town and the many family members and friends here,” said McKenna. “It’s really wonderful to see new participation in the very important building process of leading this community forward.”

With his wife, Melissa, their three children, and Melissa’s parents, sitting in the audience, Mr. Turco delivered a brief but cogent address.

Turco began by thanking retiring Town Councillors Thomas Reilly, Joseph Ferrino Jr., and Richard Gill for their service to the town. “I would especially like to thank Tom Reilly for his advice and wise counsel during the past two months of transition. He has been a true gentleman and I look forward to calling on him for advice in the coming years.”

Turco acknowledged the economic crisis “afflicting our town, state, and nation.”

“Times such as these call for greater efficiency in all aspects of municipal government,” said Turco. “True we must deal with the crisis, but we also must look beyond it. Where do we want to be in three years and in five years?…Can we do things better, smarter, and more efficiently than other communities? Can we tap the greatest resource we have in this community, the time and talents of our fellow citizens?”

Turco said he is looking forward to working with the Town Council, School Committee, and Town Manager James McKenna as they address the challenges facing the town.

In addition to Turco, other officials receiving their oaths of office were Town Councillors Paul F. Varone, Nicholas DelVento, Russell Sanford, and Larry Powers; School Committee members William V. Holden III, Brian J. Perrin, and Todd A. Sacco; Housing Authority members Joseph A. Boncore, Lawrence S. Holmes, and Richard D. Honan; and Library Trustees Betty Nicolas Peabody, Richard S. Tyrell, and Virginia Wallace.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.